movies · REVIEWS · thoughts

Cek Toko Sebelah | Review

The story follows Yohan and Erwin, being the only two sons of a shop owner in a suburban area of Jakarta, Mr. Afuk. Devastated after the death of his wife and his uncalled disease, he decided to let Erwin, his younger son to take over the shop he built together along with his already dead wife before he retired. And Erwin, being the  ultimate favored child, agreed to give it a go for a month, for he couldn’t just leave his uprising career and girlfriend in the company he worked so hard to get into. While on the other hand, Yohan being the least favored son, was offended that his dad ended up choosing Erwin instead of him.

REVIEW

Words can never legitimately describe the love I have for this movie. Indonesia has finally took a huge turn with its film industry with this relevant release. A huge praise goes to Ernest for outlining the core plots of this film, it was undeniably amazing. The humor this movie offered, not to mention the drama, and the entire pacing of the plot from the very beginning shook me to the point where I wanna do a re-watch on it again someday.

The thing I love most about this movie was that it was super relatable for me remembering that I too, came from a similar Chinese family background. The approach upon the acculturation between the Indonesian-Chinese ethnic and the pure Indonesian locals from this story was cordial, and it made me super happy to see both sides get along very well throughout the entire movie. We get to see the things they’re going through in a story told so realistically, in such an appropriate everyday life setting being shown through an Indonesian movie format, which was exactly what I needed to freshen up my mind after not watching one for so long.

The plot of it, was interwoven so well from the very start. As a result, it was very easy to comprehend and absorb the messages being thrown off to the audience. There was this sheer balance between the humor, seriousness, and drama that it made the movie even more entertaining to watch to its very core.

cek toko sebelah

Safe to say as it is, the representation of these set of characters were brought down quite nicely, and that the cast very much fits the roles they had for themselves in this movie. I enjoyed seeing everyone giving their best skills to deliver such an amazing storyline in return, as it was of course, once again, relatable for me personally because I too have experienced living in quite the similar setting of this movie.

All in all, I enjoyed every minute of it, and personally believe that this is one of those must-watch Indonesian movies out there that fits the bill for everyone. I feel like I could pick something new out of it, after each new time I ended up seeing the movie again repetitiously. The movie supports a very strong dynamic Indonesian-Chinese family aspect to it, and such strong representations of them that it felt really similar to the ones I personally experience with in real life!


I’ve always wanted to try reviewing an Indonesian produced movie here on my blog, knowing that I happen to live here and become one myself. So then yeah, I am super happy I finally found one that really moved my heart enough for me to write it! Just to lay it out there, this was not exactly the newest release in the industry, but it was a movie that got recommended to me so often. I have heard nothing but amazing things and positive feedbacks coming from the people who had seen them. That led me saying to myself, “Hey, why not give it a go?” SUPER glad with how this review turned out a little more concise than the previous ones I’ve written in the past, because I’ve absolutely adored it very much, and had honestly zero complaints regarding its existence.
Some of you may be wondering why I have not yet continued on my travel writing spree on this blog, and the thing is, I still most likely will, and I still am up for it entirely. There were just a couple of things to clear up at the back of my mind to settle in through writing that I just had to move ahead by posting it before it shuts off completely. You know what I’m saying?
ANYHOW, let me know what you think of this movie overall down below? Have you seen it? Or have you not and are planning to see it in a short time? What did you think about this post? It’d be super lovely to read from you guys. Once again, thank you  so much for reading.

have a lovely day!

picsart_01-13-01-17-52

Leave a Reply

